Ellie Goulding’s “Delirium” lands her music on a new level


Brooklyne Shepherd

Ellie Goulding does it again.

Goulding’s third album “Delirium,” released Nov. 6, 2015, follows her already established path of producing music that is both risky and ambitious. Due to the fact that this album is quite different than her previous albums “Lights” and “Halcyon,” Goulding offers an accompanying statement to “Delirium;” “Part of me views this album as an experiment – to make a big pop album…I made a conscious decision that I wanted it to be on another level.”  

According to Goulding, “It [her new album] can be describing a really happy, crazy state or it can be the complete opposite. I’m constantly in a state of delirium.”

Goulding’s vocals are the most crucial aspect of the album because she is so different than other well-known artists these days; she takes lyrics and transforms them into a more sincere, delicate tone, making her an ethereal vocalist with her own spin on traditional tones. Goulding teamed up with music producers Greg Kurstin, Ryan Tedder, and Max Martin in order to create “Delirium,” and showcase her unique vocals that bring to life each and every one of her tracks.  

With 16 songs on Goulding’s standard version, but 22 songs on her deluxe edition, “Delirium will leave its audience feeling a mixed array of emotions.”

“It will help bring on the tears when you’re feeling sad, it will warm your heart when you’re in love, and it will get you on your feet when you are in the mood to dance.”

When listening to Goulding’s “Delirium,” it is notable that in this album she has has let her guard down more than ever, both writing her own own songs with handcrafted lyrics and putting her trust in other producers to help develop her album. However, even through “letting down her guard,” Goulding is still able to personify her vision and get her intended message across to her audience.



On the day of release of “Delirium,” Goulding describes the intended message behind each of her songs within the album via Twitter.

“‘Don’t Panic’ is about today’s society being obsessed with what people think about them, or obsessed with not knowing if a guy likes you or not, or overthinking things, overthinking relationships, overthinking being with someone, and sabotaging something good.”

“‘Holding On For Life’ is prominent song within the album for it is more philosophical. “It’s more about being with someone, and it being kind of now or never, and it’s a matter of life or death. And you feel like there’s still a lot of life left in you and the other person, but you’re just trying to hold onto it, and hold onto what you’ve got.”


1. Intro (“Delirium”)

2. “Aftertaste”

3. “Something In The Way You Move”

4. “Keep On Dancin’”

5. “On My Mind”

6. “Around U”

7. “Codes”

8. “Holding On For Life”

9. “Love Me Like You Do”

10. “Don’t Need Nobody”

11. “Don’t Panic”

12. “We Can’t Move To This”

13. “Army”

14.“Lost and Found”

15. “Devotion”

16. “Scream It Out”


Featured Photo Credit: Polydor Records

What do you think?